News & Events

Home News & Events Iowa State University…

Iowa State University Honors New Bright Scholars

Iowa State University Honors New Bright Scholars

The Iowa State Uni­ver­si­ty Office of Stu­dent Finan­cial Aid, in con­junc­tion with the Bright Foun­da­tion, host­ed a recep­tion for the 2015 Bright Schol­ars of Iowa. The schol­ars include:

  • Grant Bar­ton
  • Kira Conard
  • Alex Franker
  • Kait­lyn Herold
  • Alex­is Houseman
  • Kwiz­era Imani
  • Nolan Kennedy
  • Bri­an­na McAtee
  • Rebekah Slet­ten
  • Mary McKen­na Von Rentzel

Bev­er­ly Apel and Wes Ritchie, mem­bers of the Bright Foundation’s board of direc­tors, attend­ed the event. Ms. Apel spoke of her role with the Bright Foun­da­tion and as a niece of Lois Bright. Dr. Thomas Hill, senior vice pres­i­dent of stu­dent affairs, pro­vid­ed encour­ag­ing advice about get­ting involved and con­tin­u­ing to strive for suc­cess. Mr. Ritchie pre­sent­ed each new Bright Schol­ar with a medal­lion and a book­let telling the sto­ry of Lois and Dale Bright. New schol­ars also received a per­son­al­ized pad­fo­lio from the Office of Stu­dent Finan­cial Aid. Return­ing Bright Schol­ars from the 2013 and 2014 cohorts were also in attendance.

This is the third year a recep­tion has been held at Iowa State Uni­ver­si­ty to hon­or The Bright Schol­ars of Iowa.