News & Events

Home News & Events Iowa State University…

Iowa State University Recognizes Bright Scholars

Iowa State University Recognizes Bright Scholars

On Feb­ru­ary 7, 2020, Iowa State Uni­ver­si­ty host­ed a recep­tion at the Memo­r­i­al Union to hon­or its 2019 Bright Schol­ars. Many return­ing schol­ars also attend­ed the event dur­ing which the 2019 cohort was pre­sent­ed with medal­lions and a Bright Sto­ry book. 

The newest schol­ar­ship recip­i­ents rec­og­nized include:


  • Mica­iah Clay­ton – Pre-Bio­log­i­cal/Pre-Med­ical Illustration
  • Joce­lyn Mar­tin – Design 
  • Nadia Marzec – Elec­tri­cal Engineering
  • Jen­na Plotzke – Mechan­i­cal Engineering
  • Anna Smith – Open Major

Remarks at the event were pro­vid­ed by:

  • Erin Schwartz – Pro­gram Coor­di­na­tor II, ISU Office of Stu­dent Finan­cial Aid
  • Dr. Ver­non HurteISU Asso­ciate Vice Pres­i­dent & Dean of Students
  • Mered­ith Dohmen – Bright Foun­da­tion Direc­tor of Scholarships

Mered­ith Dohmen, direc­tor of schol­ar­ships for the Bright Foun­da­tion, and Wes Ritchie, for­mer board mem­ber of the Bright Foun­da­tion, attend­ed the event.