News & Events

Home News & Events The Bright Foundation…

The Bright Foundation Announces 2017 Scholarship Recipients

The Bright Foundation is pleased to announce the 2017 recipients of its two scholarships, Bright Scholars of Iowa and the Lois Dale Scholarship.

Both of these are need- and mer­it-based grants that hon­or out­stand­ing high school seniors, ensur­ing they have the finan­cial means to com­plete a two- or four-year col­lege edu­ca­tion with­out accu­mu­lat­ing debt. The Lois Dale Schol­ar­ship is avail­able to stu­dents grad­u­at­ing from East High School in Des Moines, while Bright Schol­ars of Iowa is open to stu­dents across the state. 

The 2017 Bright Schol­ars of Iowa recip­i­ents include:

  • Diana Berggren – South­west­ern Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Alek Boed­ing – Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern Iowa
  • Joshua Brown – Indi­an Hills Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Alyssa Clay­ton – Iowa State University
  • Jin­ni Din­gel – Iowa State University
  • Lau­ryn Drewelow – Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern Iowa
  • Eliz­a­beth Folk­ers – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Kaylee Ford – Indi­an Hills Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Autumn Gan­non – Iowa State University
  • Ella Gogan – Indi­an Hills Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Owen Hens­ley – South­west­ern Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Bob­bie Hilmer – Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern Iowa
  • Hai­ley Hug­gins – Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern Iowa
  • Alexan­dra Hum­ston – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Bran­don Lip­kowitz – Iowa State University
  • Luz Mar­tinez – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Andrea Mil­stead – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Aubree Pow­ders – Indi­an Hills Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Alex­is Soukup – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Amos Sto­vall – Indi­an Hills Com­mu­ni­ty College
  • Dal­ton Tonne – Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern Iowa
  • Paige Vogel – Iowa State University

The 2017 Lois Dale Schol­ar­ship recip­i­ents include:

  • Rob­bi Boggess – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Brandy Cam – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Mai­lyn Huynh – Iowa State University
  • Hardik Kalra – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Mason Lawrence – Iowa State University
  • Thai Pham – Iowa State University
  • Tyren Teav – Iowa State University
  • Crys­tal Velazquez – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa
  • Tiana Warn­er – Uni­ver­si­ty of Iowa

The Bright Foun­da­tion was found­ed by H. Dale and Lois Bright in 1957. Since then, it has qui­et­ly con­tributed mil­lions of dol­lars to Iowa orga­ni­za­tions, char­i­ties and edu­ca­tion­al institutions.